NO. 347 KNIGHTS FERRY - Once called Dentville, this picturesque mining center and trading post was founded in 1849. An early ferry carried Argonauts on their way to the southern mines. The rare wooden covered bridge, reportedly designed by U. S. Grant, brother-in-law of the Dent brothers, and the old flour mill were built there in 1854. The town served as the county seat from 1862 to 1872.
Information Center:17968 Covered Bridge Rd Oakdale, CA 95361 ---- Knights Ferry General Store: 17701 Main Knights Ferry, CA 95361
First State Marker: South side of CA-120, 150 feet SW of Kennedy Road. ---- Second State Marker: North side of CA-120, .3 miles NE of Willms Rd.