NO. 123 COLUMBIA - Columbia, the 'Gem of the Southern Mines,' became a town of 4,000 to 5,000 in the 1850s, following the discovery of gold here by the Hildreth party March 27, 1850. Gold shipments, estimated at $87,000,000, declined rapidly after 1858, but Columbia never became a ghost town. Columbia State Historic Park was created in 1945 to preserve its historic buildings and sites.
Columbia State Historic Park, NW corner of Washington and Broadway Sts, Columbia
This site has two markers. The FIRST MARKER is on the east side of CA-49, .3 mi South of Parrot's Ferry Road. (38.0337555555556, -120.402144444444 ). The SECOND MARKER is on the west side of Parrots Ferry Road (Broadway), where it intersects with Washington Street.