NO. 650 SITE OF THE WHAT CHEER HOUSE - This is the site of the famous What Cheer House, a unique hotel opened in 1852 by R. B. Woodward and destroyed by the fire of 1906. The What Cheer House catered to men only, permitted no liquor on the premises, and housed San Francisco's first free library and first museum.
South West corner Sacramento and Leidesdorff Streets
The State plaque is on the Leidesdorff Alley side of the building.